Revelation 17:9

And here is the mind which hath wisdom. the seven
heads are seven mountains, on which the woman sitteth.

Legend has it that twin babies, Romulus and Remus, were abandoned by their mother and raised by a she-wolf.  When they reached maturity, they set off to found the city of Rome.  Romulus was supposedly the first king of Rome.  Rome was founded on seven hills.
It is now being said that Rome is built on 8 hills.  This so called 8th hill is Mons Vaticanus where the Vatican sits. 

*Check out the following website:

It contains a lot of historical and biblical information about Rome. There are also plenty of pictures showing a woman riding a beast with a cup in her hand.
BACK              HOME           NEXT
             The Seven Mountains Are:       
1) Caelian
                     2) Aventine
                     3) Esquliline
                     4) Capitoline
                     5) Quirinal
                     6) Viminal
                     7) Palatine
St. Peter's Basilica in Rome
BACK               HOME             NEXT